General Information

Addison, Texas is located in an area once called Peters Colony. It was settled as early as 1846 when Preston Witt built a house on White Rock Creek. Addison was incorporated on June 15, 1953 and became the Town of Addison with the adoption of a new charter on April 3, 1982.

The charter established the Council-Manager form of government for the Town. The Council is comprised of a Mayor and six members who are elected in at-large elections. Members are elected for two-year terms in alternating years. In Addison the Mayor and City Council are elected to two year terms and may serve up to three successive terms.

The Council's responsibility to enact local legislation, adopt budgets, determine policies and appoint the City Manager. The City Manager serves as the chief administrator, ensuring the Council's policies are carried out. The Council meets in regular sessions on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month at 7:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers at Town Hall, 5300 Belt Line Road. The agenda is posted at Town Hall and on the Addison, Texas web page the Friday prior to the meeting. The public is welcome to attend all Council meetings.

Watch Public Meetings LIVE

Watch City Council Meetings as they happen. 

Open Records Request?